- free deep underground house music mixes


« Previous | All Monthly Reports | Next »

2 May 11

Thelonious Funk's monthly report 4/11

  • Post a commentNo comments yet, why not be the 1st? Join the discussion!

Mixed by

Thelonious Funk

no profile information here




Full profile


I must say this was the most exciting monthly reports I have done in a while. Most of these tunes could easily be on the year end review come December. Actress kicks off with kalimba flavored remix of Panda Bear. IKE kills it again with another release on Soulphiction Philpot label.

Rush Hour is flexing their muscles with amazing releases from BNJMN, Cosmin TRG & The Oliverwho Factory. Recloose get remixed by Milton Jackson.

Two of the brightest talents in this game Motor City Drum Ensemble & john Roberts are on one song. Need I say more? Deetron has been quite busy lately. His latest contribution is on a very nice compilation Forward To The Past on Polker Flat. Surely check this release out.

Dan Snaith has had breakout year with his Swim LP in 2010. Now Manitoba aka Caribou aka Daphi has a split EP that show that he can destroy the dancefloor as well. It reminds me of his days when he produce as Manitoba on his first album "Start Breaking my Heart". Amampondo's first appearance on Innervisions was a collaboration with Henrik Schwarz. This time they collaborate with Ame for their latest offering "Ku Kujani".

One member of the 3chairs Crew Marcellus Pittman brings some pure heat on 7th Sign Recordings. Kadebostan never ceases to amaze me with his music. "Mon Petit Soleil D'Algerie" (My Little Algerian Sun) is a tune that is a dark massive journey that you do not want to end. You must turn this up!!! Las but not least is Stefan Goldmann to end this massive monthly report for April.

Enjoy The Music,

Henderick AKA Thelonious Funk


1. Panda Bear "Surfer's Hymn"[Actress Primitive Pattern Remix](Kompakt)
2. BNJMN "Blocks"(Rush Hour)
3. IKE "Mojo"(Philpot)
4. James Blakstar John feat. Deon Nathan "All I Need Is Dub"(Smooth Agent PROMO)
5. The Oliverwho Factory "Galactic Transit"[Recall Instrumental Mix](Rush Hour)
6. Recloose feat. Dwele "I Can't Take It"[Milton Jackson Remix](Planet E Remix)
7. Brooks Mosher "Mass Transit"(Dolly)
8. Motor City Drum Ensemble "Monorail"[John Roberts Remix](MCDE)
9. Cosmin TRG "A Universal Crush"(Rush Hour)
10. Deetron "The Maze"(Polker Flat)
11. Daphni AKA Caribou "Ye Ye" (Text)
12. Ame & Amampondo "Ku Kujani"[Version 1](Innervisions)
13. Conforce "Spoiled"(Clone Basement Series)
14. Marcellus Pittman "The Mad Underdog"(7th Sign Recordings)
15. Kadebostan "Mon Petit Soleil D'Algerie"(Freude Am Tanzen)
16. Stefan Goldmann "Aleko" (Victoriaville)