- free deep underground house music mixes


« Previous | All Thelonious Funk Sessions | Next »

31 Aug 13

Thelonious Funk Sessions # 182 (Next Gen Mix By G. Marcell)



This week's show kicks off with music from the Ninja Tune camp by Jono McCleery & Bonobo. Rick Wilhite remixes Rondenion on Plug Research. I have some music from the latest installment of the Tectonic Plate Series by Pursuit Grooves. New music from the albums of Huerco S & Vakula. Osunlade gets a remix from Andres on Yoruba records, along with music from Iron Curtis, Marcellus Pittman, Massimo Di Lena & phenom Greg Beato.

This week feature a trio of triple plays. The first comes from Anno Stamm featuring music from his first 2 EPs on All Dublin City & Meakusma. The second one is all about Anunnaki Cartel featuring 2 tracks from the Vanguard Sound series by DJ Spider & Dakini9 along with a tune from Joey Anderson's EP. The third triple play features music from G. Marcell, our latest installment of our Next Gen Series.

I first met G. Marcell 3 years ago when I had plans to release some of his music on Smooth Agent. He is a very talented producer that is on the rise. He has released music on Hakim Murphy's Machining Dreams label as well as collaborating with him as Resonating. I initially planned on doing a show of music from my collection but G. Marcell had other ideas for me by sending this nice mix to me. So he made this mix exclusive for the Next Gen Series. So for the mix itself he has included some exclusives of his productions along with plenty of music from DJ Qu. He also shows plenty of love for his fellow Chicagoans Chicago Skyway & Amir Alexander. He also has some nice music from new producers Eve Lys & Defendr. Be sure to check out his collaboration with Hakim Murphy as Resonating on Machining Dreams.

I felt since I did not expect to get this mix I decided to add an aforementioned triple play of some forthcoming music from him & a tune from his Resonating collaboration with Hakim Murphy. Greg Beato shows up again to round off the show with a tune fro his latest EP on L.I.E.S.

Enjoy The Music,

Henderick AKA Thelonious Funk


Part 1
1. Intro
2. Jono McCleery "Ballade"(Ninja Tune)
3. Bonobo "Jets"(Ninja Tune)
4. Rondenion "She Said. He Said"[Rick "the Godson" Wilhite's "She Said Deeper" Mix](Plug Research)
5. Pursuit Grooves "Hard Beginnings"(Tectonic)
Triple Play: Anno Stamm
6. Anno Stamm "I Still Have the Photographs"(All City Dublin)
7. Anno Stamm "New Age Advisor"(Meakusma)
8. Anno Stamm "A Triangular Patch of Lip"(All City Dublin)
9. Huerco S. "Ragtime U.S.A."[Warning](Software Recording Co.)
10. Iron Curtis "Daniel"(Smallville)
11. Vakula "New Romantic"(Firecracker)
12. Marcellus Pittman "Unirhythm Track"(NDATL)
13. Osunlade "Camera Shy"[Andres Remix](Yoruba Records)
14. Greg Beato "3"(Apron Records)
15. o.d.d. "Pols"(Dixon Avenue Basement Jams)
16. Massimo Di Lena "Halfway Ritmo"(Early Sounds)
Triple Play: Anunnaki Cartel
17. Dakini9 "Rollercoaster To Nowhere"(Anunnaki Cartel)
18. Joey Anderson "Rumble on the Dance Floor"(Anunnaki Cartel)
19. DJ Spider "New World Resistance"(Anunnaki Cartel)

Part 2
Next Gen Exclusive Mix: G. Marcell (Plan B Recordings/Machining Dreams)
20. Eve Lys "Vision"(Unreleased)
21. DJ Qu "BabyLuv"(Strength Music)
22. Defendr "Seven 707's"(Unreleased)
23. DJ Qu "Party People Clap"(Deconstruct)
24. G.Marcell "Warpped Mind Structure"[People]
25. Defendr "Skone"(Unreleased)
26. Resonating "Double Back"(Machining Dreams)
27. G.Marcell "Construction"(Unreleased)
28. Amir Alexander "Cypher"(Anunnaki Cartel)
29. Chicago Skyway "London Streets"(Uzuri)
30. DJ Qu "Juicy Fruit"(Strength Music)
31. G.Marcell "Alarm Clock"[The Party](Unreleased)
End Of Mix
Triple Play: G. Marcell
32. G. Marcel "The Lion"(Unreleased)
33. Resonating "J707"
34. Hakim Murphy "Izquierda Dos"[G. Marcell Spacey Mix](Machining Dreams PROMO)
35. Greg Beato "PMA"(L.I.E.S.)